Topics - Defence Matters ENG - News
Šī informācija 15.12.2018. 07:48 ir izdrukāta no http://www.leta.lv/eng/defence_matters_eng/defence_matters_eng/news/133C969F-3D00-EEC5-0A59-BB718520E54B/

23 EU member states sign agreement on closer cooperation in defense

BRUSSELS, Nov 13 (LETA--DPA) - On November 13, 2017, ministers from 23 EU member states, including Latvia, signed a joint notification on the Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO), providing for closer military integration after Brexit.

The joint notification on PESCO was signed by foreign and defense ministers of 23 EU member states.

The final decision on establishment of PESCO will be signed by leaders of the member states during the summit in December.

Denmark and the UK - which have long had opt-outs on EU defense matters – have not signed the notification. Ireland, Malta and Portugal have not made up their minds on joining the initiative yet.

Published: 13.11.2017 14:49

© The given news may not be republished in any way or amount, or otherwise used by the mass media or Internet websites, without written permission of LETA. If this provision is not observed, the matter will be taken to court pursuant to the laws and regulations of the Republic of Latvia.